A word or two about sock yarn…

You’re all on the edge of your seat here. A thrilling topic to be sure. Yet, this is what I’m thinking about, cause I just made Chris these socks that turned out awesomely amazing, but here’s the thing….I hated the yarn.

Image

It was wound too tightly, and had this harsh sheen too it.  It wasn’t the kind of yarn that you pick up in a yarn store and ooh and ahh over.  Even the colors seemed harsh, and not subtle at all.  Yet they made a very lovely pair of socks.

IMG_4685 IMG_4684

 I’ve come to a conclusion on this one:  Some things should not be ‘luxury items’ and sock yarn is one of them.   While the yarn in question for these socks, Spud and Chloe’s Fine Sock would technically qualify as a luxury yarn, it’s expensive, it’s got a little silk in there, it doesn’t have the fluffy-cloud-ness that I associate with high end yarns.  It’s sturdy and practical,  in short, what you’d need for a nice pair of socks, rather than a nice skein of yarn.

I have had more than one experience with less than sturdy, practical sock yarns.  The last pair of socks I did before this pair was made with the Plucky Knitter Primo Fingering.  Now that yarn has fluffy-cloud-ness in spades!  It’s super soft, and has a lovely sheen, hand dyed, but lookey what happened to these guys….I only finished them in December…

2

It’s really hard to see just how incredibly ratty these socks really are.  I think I wore them twice before the whole foot turned into a matted shedding mess.  So, wonderful yarn, awful end result.

And it’s not the first time, I’ve been seduced before, by soft, shiny yarns that are lovely to look at, lovely to knit with, that give you a sock that just doesn’t hold up, but after this last one, I will be vigilant, I’ve been knitting for too long, I know better, I know the label says ‘sock yarn’  but what they really mean is,  ‘ this is really skinny yarn that would make a nice wrap or something that doesn’t get worn inside shoes’.  Don’t get me wrong, the Plucky Knitter Primo Fingering was amazing yarn.  Just not for socks.

I think my favorite, my go-to sock yarn, at least for right now, it Knit Picks Stroll.  It comes in a great selection of colors, and the tonals,my favorite, come in huge, I want to say 800 yd skeins (don’t quote me on that,  I don’t have a label infront of me) The yarn is not quite so harsh as the Spud and Chloe, and it definitely holds up.  Here is a pair of lace socks I made about 5 yrs ago

IMG_4690

Sorry it’s not the best photo, but honestly, they look brand new.  Five years old!  Here is a close up of the lace pattern

IMG_4691

And here is another pair I’m working on now, also in the Knit Picks Stroll.  They are coming out great!  Can’t wait to finish them.

IMG_4702 IMG_4703

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting

2 responses to “A word or two about sock yarn…

  1. Love Knit Picks Stroll as well. Tonal is my favorite.

  2. Yeah, looks is far not everything for socks.

Leave a Reply

